current
older
rings
links
cast
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2004-10-30 - 6:10 p.m.
-

Well, I went to the ballet last night. It was not like anything I have seen before. Les Liasons Dangerouse would be extremeley hard to do, but Jean Grande-Maitre, who after Mikkal Nissianan is the best artistic directore this ballet has had, managed to do do it, and do it well.
The Alberta Ballet was honestly one of the worst ballets on this continent, but now it has become one of the most coveted, and I'm extremely proud its home is mine.
Jean originally created Dangerous Liasons for the Norweigian Ballet in Oslo. It is extremely unconventional, especially for a feature lenght. What he did was the music from the movie, and you would have the main characters Marquise and Valmont read their correspondences. I'm asuming he got those from the movie, but I've never seen it. On a raised platfrom were dancers, but attired in the dress of the time, and they basically acted out the story. In front of them where the dancers who danced it out. It was extremely emotional, and very sexually charged. The lighting, everything, it was well done. I wasn't sure I liked it at first, but the ambiguousness of it grew on you. The "dancer" Valmeont portrays his character so potently. The "dancer" Celcile was so innocent. Alberta Ballet has truly taken a step up. Nissinan put them back on track, making it not only technically acceptable, but astethically pleasing. Sadly it meant weeding out quite a few dancers, and hard regimes for the rest, but they are the better for it. Maitre is bringing in the coreography. I quite enjoyed going home, too. Just the lingering thoughts of the ballet, and the city and night, and Radiohead.

Everytime I read this, though, it seems like I miss so much. I'm not in touch anymore, at all.

last - next