current
older
rings
links
cast
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2007-09-26 - 3:27 p.m.
-

so, I am attempting to write a paper on whether or not it is morally permissable to eat and/or use animals in lab testing. Something that at first glance doesn't seem very hard, and shouldn't be if i would just keep my mind on topic, but if I argue one way it throws all sorts of convictions I once had about other things into the air. And the other does the same thing. I don't know if there's a middle path between the two.

Kantian ethics and utilitarianism both demand certain things that I don't want to commit to, I want to say human life is intrinsically valuable, but then I don't know how to consolidate that with isssues like abortion and euthenaisa. Those sorts of topics make me want to lean towards a circumstantial and consequential arguement, but then I can't defend the equal value of people.

Its a short and inadequate summary of the problems this paper is creating, but the long and short of it is, this may ruin steak forever!

last - next