current
older
rings
links
cast
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2006-09-30 - 2:18 p.m.
-

I remember the big red fire trucks, which used they used to have. Every year we would go to the parade through the middle of town. Every year they would bring the big red fire trucks. Sometimes if you were lucky, they would pull the string and you could hear their horn. I remember Mum didn't like that too much, "It'll hurt your ears", she said, but I don't think it did. Anyways, she still brought us to the parade every year.
We used to live in this little house with a little flicker-y television, a SONY XB31. We also had a radio, which had the knob broken right off. You had to steal one of Pop's razor blades, and use the backend to change the station. Only you had to be awful careful of that razor blade in case it slipped. I remember Peter slipped once. We were listening to the Shadow Run Radio Show, or rather we wanted to listen to the Shadow Run Radio Show, and we were going to, only Peter's hand slipped. He cut his palm real bad, and had to get stitches and all. Only the thing was we weren't supposed to use the backend of Papa's razor blade, (Not that it mattered much, what with Papa being dead, he wasn't going to miss them, and what with them being better for the job than the screwdriver Mum kept on the shelf beneath the radio) so Peter had to say, he had wanted to shave and be grown up, and had been changing the blade when he had slipped. The razor was one of those cheap ones with the changeable blades which were dull on one end. That dull end made them perfect for the radio though, and we kept using them even after Peter had slipped, seeing how they worked better than the screwdriver even if you had to be careful of slipping.
It turned out that that was the only episode of the Shadow Run Radio Show we missed that year. I remember the TV had three channels. But only one ever had anything good on it. I mean anything good for Peter and I (not Peter and Me) to watch, seeing that we didn't much like the news. Mum watched it all the time though. But the one channel had episodes of The Lone Ranger on it, and we didn't miss any of them, but for when we went fishing.
We had a teacher once, who I remember, took us to go fishing. Peter was a year older than I was, but he came anyway. We used the teachers little saw blade to cut long branches to use as fishing rods, and we would dig up big worms for bait. I don't think we ever caught much, but I remember one day, when we caught a big fat trout. Mum cooked it up for us with flour and oil, and it tasted like the sun, and not at all like worms. Like I said though, we had this teacher who took us one time, they said late that he was a no good teacher, who only taught so he could meet young boys. I never knew why they said that though, I liked school well enough though, 'cause even though I didn't much like math (which is like puzzles, and I never was any good at puzzles), or language studies(which was actually grammar and things) there was a pretty girl in my Grade. She had pretty curly long hair, which she kept real neat, and brushed, and her Mum put it up and down all at once, and she sat two desks forward and one over from me.

last - next