current
older
rings
links
cast
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2005-10-05 - 4:11 a.m.
Dont tell anyone you dont own fucking Blonde On Blonde

I think that you're both right about the starbucks thing.

1. It's petty and really snobby not to buy an album you like simply because it's being sold at a store you dont want to support, but

2. I personally think it's pretty awful for only one store to sell an artists music. To own the exclusive rights to sell that music... I dont know, somehow that just defeats the purpose of art. Art should be accessable to EVERYONE if it can be, and Bob Dylan deffinetly can be. What I mean by that is, Bob Dylan is such a large name in music, that his CD's could and would sell in pretty much every other record store out there if the rights to sell it werent owned exclusivley by Starbucks, so limiting the places you can obtain such art to Starbucks, I think, is defeating the whole purpose of art.

But at least it's out there, right? And, I mean, most people are probably just going to download it off the internet anyway.

P.S. Cat Power does a really really nice cover of He Was A Friend Of Mine by the Bob. I would reccomend checking it out.

last - next