current
older
rings
links
cast
guestbook
e-mail
diaryland
RP Designs

2005-10-03 - 7:02 a.m.
-

So you won't buy Bob Dylan from Starbucks or Amazon. Fine.
Will you buy his music, or any other music for that matter, from HMV? A&B Sound? Play? You've got to get it somewhere.
NEWSFLASH: They're corporations too. They're just as against Bob Dylan's message.
You can be anti-Starbucks all you want. I don't care. But there's about a billion other companies you support every fucking day, some with much shadier business practices and way lower employment standards.
Just don't get all uppity because I spent a little bit of money at Starbucks, just because I love Dylan so much that I wanted to hear something new of his.
I'll agree that corporate America is in a sorry state. That I will never argue. But frankly, there's a lot worse out there than Starbucks. The clothes you're wearing right now, and most likely the clothes I'm wearing as well, were probably made by some skinny, malnourished, miserable young kid in Bangladesh for 10 cents an hour. That to me seems like a much worse transgression than putting some money in the pockets of the Starbucks execs. because of a love of music. But I'm not going to shame everyone for wearing child labour clothes, because I know there's nothing I can do to change it. I'll pick my battles and my causes. Shaming someone because they bought a CD at Starbucks is petty.

last - next